Tags

Plum and June

Hi there! Welcome to the Monday Link Up, organized by Beth at Plum and June and guest-hosted this week by me. I’m Laura C, here at littleandlots. I’m so happy to have you-all here.

Besides being an incredibly talented and creative quilter, I think that what Beth brings to the blogging community is just that–a real sense of community. She works really hard to bring all of us new bloggers together, and does a great job getting the conversation started with the Monday Link Up. Before I get to the Link Up, I just want to run a short commercial for another one of her amazing meet-other-new-bloggers projects.

It’s the 2013 Let’s Get Acquainted New Blogger Blog Hop!

Plum and June

I’m thrilled to be participating this summer. The list of this year’s participants includes some of my VERY favorite quilting blogs–blogs that I’d never believe were “new” if they hadn’t joined up! There is some serious talent in this year’s cohort of New Blog Hoppers. Join along with me and visit them all!

This week I finished the quilt I am most proud of so far. It’s my best quilt yet, no joke. I’ve been quilting for three years, modern quilting for two (yes, you’ll see repro fabrics in my latest quilt–I try my level best to use ALL of my stash and not throw anything out), and blogging for one. Never did I think I was capable of making something I love this much!

Especially considering that last year, this is where I was at:

SONY DSC

From the ill-lit indoor photo to the clutter of toddler books, to the unmodified 30’s design–this is not my proudest moment. I’m still fond of this quilt, an applique fan quilt using Violet Craft’s Peacock Lane. But oh, what I could have done differently!

This is my latest, most-proud of quilt:

SONY DSC

I used Rachel @ Stitched in Color’s Ziggy Strings tutorial to construct the blocks, but I laid them out in a broken rainbow pattern, red in the center to low-volume along the bottom edge. Determined to use every bit of fabric I’ve got, even the repros, I used only scrap strings (with some Kona Bone, technically scrap from a project last fall) to make this quilt.

I can’t believe the same person made both of these quilts!

Now…’fess up! Link up, BUT…it’s time to share some things you’re trying to keep secret!

1. Link up any recent sewing/quilting post.

2. In your post or on your blog, please include either a text link or a button letting people know about this link up and link it back to this post.

3. Visit at least the two bloggers who link up before you and everyone who visits you from this post.

4. When the link tool asks for a CAPTION or description, tell me a quilty skeleton in your closet. It can be a mistake you learned too late that you were making, fabric you can’t believe you bought, an early quilt you can’t believe you made, a “modern” quilt you can’t believe you ever pooh-pooh-ed. I KNOW you have one. (I think we all do.)

See you next week on the blog hop!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…