Tags

, ,

A few photos to prove that I’ve finished this beast, yes?

SONY DSC

 

At 64” x 84”, if this isn’t the biggest quilt I’ve ever shoved through the Janome, it’s definitely close.

SONY DSC

 

You can see the straight-line quilting a bit better here. I chose to follow the pattern of some of the zigs, rather than just go up and down the quilt. It turned out okay, but there was some teeth-gnashing as I turned those corners, and got folds of fabric caught under the walking foot filling in middle spaces.

SONY DSC

 

And good news for my husband, who has to move all these quilts this winter (we ARE moving out of this tiny apartment, no matter what!): I am giving this one away.

SONY DSC

 

Yep. My professor friends who live in Phoenix have only a very small throw-size quilt that I made in my early quilting days (completely hand-pieced and hand-quilted, hand-sewn binding and all). He is very tall, and I felt so sorry when they sent me a photo of him trying to nap under the little quilt. He definitely needed a bigger one. And they needed one that both of them could snuggle under! Their anniversary was ten days ago, and her birthday is two days from now, so a perfect excuse.

SONY DSC

 

I backed the quilt in scraps. The spirit of a scrap quilt is “buy nothing new,” yes? I tried to carry the rainbow idea onto the back. The other side is sky, sun, grass, earth.

SONY DSC

 

The quilt is bound in the white Memoir print from Violet Craft’s Madrona Road, which I have now stashed and re-stashed. Now I need to re-re-stash it. Ha!

(P.S. If this is the first time you’re reading about this quilt, please know that I used Rachel @ Stitched in Color’s Ziggy Strings tutorial to construct the blocks, and just laid out the blocks differently. Easy peasy!)

Thanks again for putting up with so many photos of this one. I’m proud of it–but I’m MORE than ready to bundle it into the mail and move on to the next thing! Onward!

