Tags

SONY DSC

Against my better judgment, I joined the Seacost Modern Quilt Guild’s Madrona Road Pillow Challenge back in December. They cut up the fabric, the blue-gray-yellow colorway of Violet Craft’s Madrona Road for Michael Miller, packaged it up, and asked me if I wanted some. Um. Yes?

SONY DSC

We decided as a guild that we would make pillow covers for our challenge. (You will see around the internet that other guilds have chosen to go all full-quilt on this one. I’m glad this was only a pillow!) I waffled and procrastinated. I thought about adding the pinks and oranges from Madrona Road, as, really, my heart is with pinks and oranges.

SONY DSC

But I’m glad I didn’t! I added only the grey Sprout print and the white Memoir print, from my stash. I wanted to do a design with some harder edges to contrast all the sweet, lovely florals in this line. Don’t get me wrong, I love florals. But with the grays and the blues, I thought it was fun to give this some…teeth.

I’ve posted about Badskirt Amy’s Bargain Basement paper piecing pattern, and the blocks I started for the Value Added QAL. I’ve added 15 more blocks to the first four, but have a long way to go. I needed some…motivation. I needed a finished project to remind me how fun the blocks look in the end. So I pulled out some templates, paper-pieced some triangles, and laid them out end to end instead of in interlocking crosses like in Amy’s pattern. If you’re interested, she’s shared her pattern here.

SONY DSC

 

And, because I always feel like my pillow covers are so sloppy, I used Svetlana at s.o.t.a.k. handmade’s excellent tutorial for installing a zipper in a pillow cover. I’m never ever going to do an envelope closure for a throw pillow again. Her tutorial was clear, and easy, and uses less fabric than an envelope closure. I never thought I’d say this, but I had fun putting in the zipper!

It’s small, but it’s a finish, and my first finish of 2013. Yay!

