Tags

, , ,

November is my first month as Quilter in the Grace circle of do.Good stitches!

I joined the Grace circle at the end of July. I did July’s blocks a bit late, but have been on track and sewing with the group since August. I’m thrilled and honored to be sewing with the Grace ladies. They do some seriously amazing work.

I’ve got some high standards to live up to, so I’m turning to an expert: the smart and talented Sarah of Stitching and Bacon. Sarah is a dear blog friend and I pretty much love every quilt she makes, in a “you’d better lock your doors because I WILL steal that” kind of way.

I felt very much like I wanted to steal her Stars Align quilt this past winter. I can’t get her quilt out of my head! I love the limited color palette she used, and all of the secondary between-block designs created by the skinny-skinny sashing used within the block.

So, Grace girls, we’ll be using Sarah’s Stars Align tutorialΒ to make our November blocks.

SONY DSC

Inspired by Sarah’s quilt, I’ve chosen a limited palette for our blocks. Think winter, think frost, think ice. (I’ll be assembling this quilt in late December or January; definitely an icy time of year in Massachusetts!)

For the “background” of the blocks, please use a black, blue, or aqua-on-white, “low-volume” print (stack left, in the photo above) (A white solid is also ok if that’s what you’ve got in your stash.)

For colors A and BΒ of the blocks, please use medium grey and mid-true blue and aqua to light blue and aqua.

For the lattice lines of the blocks (where Sarah has used white), please use dark charcoal to black fabrics (I think dark navy would also work).

I’m a prints girl, so I cut all prints. I know we have some solids folks in our circle, so feel free to use solids for 1 or 2 areas of each block, but I’d rather not have all-solids blocks for this one.

Here’s my pile of cut fabrics for each block. One tip as you’re cutting: go ahead and cutΒ two 1.5” x WOF strips for the lattice lines. Just do it. You need 60” of that sashing, and you’ll get grouchy if you re-file your fabrics and then have to dig them back out (ask me how I know. I am officially a math genius for figuring that 28” + 14” + 15” somehow = 40”). (No I know now that I’m wrong.)

SONY DSC

 

And my two finished blocks, which I whipped up in an afternoon. The blocks finish at 13.5” square, and we’ll have a 4 x 5 layout for a 52”x65” quilt. Not bad at all!

photo-3Let me know if you have questions. Can’t wait to see these start popping up in our Flickr group!

