Tags

, ,

It’s been so long since I’ve had my wip act together enough to link up at WIP Wednesday–hooray!

DSC07602

I had hoped to turn this little project that possessed me last week into a quilt top by now–but some toddler-milestone-type intense parenting has gotten in the way. (We are very proud of Lucy–she’s doing great.) I’m more tired than I’ve been since Lucy was nursing, so there’s been a little more TV-and-knitting and a little less sewing-machine.

Last Thursday, I dumped out a pile of scraps, pulled some yellow I got from Pink Castle’s Stash Stack Club, and, using the book Tonya Ricucci’s Word Play Quilts, I sewed up these letters in two naptimes.

DSC07605

I think the capital A is my favorite!

I’m hoping to fill in with some yellow sparkly stuff, a la this:

DSC07604

The quote is one of my favorite pieces of English writing ever. It’s from Virginia Woolf’s essay “Modern Fiction,” and the whole thing goes: “Life is not a series of gig lamps symmetrically arranged; life is a luminous halo, a semi-transparent envelope surrounding us from the beginning of consciousness to the end.”

I started this project when I should have been piecing the last few x-plus blocks last week. Sick of symmetrically arranging gig lamps, I itched to sew something more chaotic and spontaneous. I’m hoping to use this wip to spell myself in between some more challenging projects I have going. Nothing renews my energy for careful piecing like an afternoon spent digging through scraps and improv piecing!

And how about that TV knitting?

DSC07606

I’m two stripes into the “color” part of my Color Affection. 100% garter stitch (I still hate to purl, even though I’m now doing it correctly) = lovely TV knitting. Our summer project is The Wire, which I’ve never seen. I can only watch one episode at a time, because it is sort of work. So we also indulged in season 1 of New Girl on Netflix, and last night, started watching Orange Is the New Black, also on Netflix–the first episode was awesome!

Hope to see you over at Lee’s WIP Wednesday!

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

