Tags

, ,

Knits ahead!

SONY DSC

This might be it (haha, might be “knit”!) for awhile. I always go through a little spell of finishing ALL THE THINGS AT ONCE, and then I start a whole bunch of new things, and then there’s dead wasteland middle time.

SONY DSC

(If you are good about cycling your projects more skillfully, so you’re not doing a ton of block-piecing-stockinette-knitting all at once, holler, please, and teach me ALL YOU KNOW.)

1) Lansbury Cowl: pattern by Shannon Cook of luvinthemommyhood; can be purchased on Ravelry here. Last Friday, I was feeling rushed and weird and disoriented. Crazy stuff kept happening! And it was 95F hot hot hot. I couldn’t settle down to work on any of my ongoing projects.

SONY DSC

So I wound my lonely skein of The Plucky Knitter Primo Aran in the April Classics colorway Whistlestop, and put it to excellent use.

SONY DSCThe irony of knitting with aran weight yarn, in an around-your-neck-keep-you-warm pattern, on the hottest weekend of the year did not escape me, but this pattern was easy, and soothing to knit, with just enough texture and cabling to feel fun. And now I have a new super-soft luxury cowl ready for the first whisper of cool weather!

2) Lucy’s Low Tide Cardigan: pattern is by Tin Can Knits, and can be purchased at Ravelry here.

SONY DSC

I was nervous to start this sweater, I really was.

SONY DSC

Lace charts! (The simplest-ever lace chart.) Kitchener stitch! (For like, four stitches.) Crochet buttonholes! (I downed a glass of wine real quick, watched two YouTube videos, and dove in, no problems.)

SONY DSC

I knit it in The Plucky Knitter Primo Fingering, colorway Frostbitten (retired colorway! Such a shame–it looks fantastic on my little, and I know it’d look great on me too). 20% cashmere in the mix, so it’s baby’s first cashmere.

SONY DSC

Again, I royally messed up the short rows on the sleeves, so if you do make this, your sleeves will look much better. But the end result is still pretty cute and Lucy LOVES it. Her favorite color right now is blue!

Both of these projects are Ravelled at my Ravelry page. If you’re a Raveller, I’d love to see you over there too!

