Tags

, , , ,

I waffled for a long time (six weeks?) about whether or not I should post photos of this finished object.

SONY DSC

 

This is the spring cardi that I cast on in March, with the first shipment of my madelinetosh Magnolia Society yarn (yes, fancy yarn–they were smart to open subscriptions during a major snowstorm in February. I ordered so much fabric and yarn that weekend when we had 30” of snow!). This is tosh mo light in the club colorway moth.

SONY DSC

 

I used Veera Välimäki’s Celery Cardigan pattern. This is my first finished sweater project. I’m fairly frustrated by the silly mistakes I made (more in a moment)

SONY DSC

but it turns out that I wear this little cardigan often. It’s the perfect light layer for New England–the fabric is soft, with a bit of soft halo, and because I knit it myself (hey hey) I was able to make the sleeves just so.

SONY DSC

 

I also love the color, which wears well with navy blue. I own a lot of navy blue clothes!

OK, rookie mistake confession time. Ever heard of twisted stockinette? Me neither. Until.

SONY DSC

 

I picked up the sleeves to knit them in the round and I was all, why do my in-the-round stitches look so different? I google around and found out:

I WAS WRAPPING ALL OF MY PURL STITCHES INCORRECTLY.

Each purl stitch, since the dawn of my knitting, I had wrapped clockwise, not counterclockwise. How could I not have noticed? Well, I knit most of my things in the round, and the mistake just didn’t show in the round.

I’m doing it right now, it’s all cool, but I’ll always have this sweater to remind me of self-taught-beginner-knitter mistakes. That’s a doozie!

Quick peeks of wips:

SONY DSC

 

A bit of Lucy’s Low Tide Cardigan, knit in The Plucky Knitter Primo Fingering in Frostbitten, which I executed perfectly (Kitchener stitch and all) until I messed up the sleeves. Failed to read the pattern while I was gossiping with my grandma. I just duplicated the mistake on the second sleeve and shrugged it off–they’re there, they don’t look awful, and it’s for a two-year-old. I need to sew on buttons, crochet the button loops, and wash/block this, and it’ll be done!

SONY DSC

 

And this is my long-term wip, the Purl Bee Whisper Wrap in Tosh Prairie, colorway Antique Lace. It’s going to take me forever to knit a large laceweight wrap, but I so desperately desire the finished object (so soft and versatile!) that I’ll stick with it.

Thanks for bearing with me for a knitting sidebar. I’m finding that my summer run-around-everywhere lifestyle is much more conducive to knitting than sewing. I always have a project on the needles in my tote bag!

