Tags

, ,

SONY DSC

Warning: so many pictures ahead. After an awful Feb-April, this week we have finally been blessed with weather so beautiful as to almost be obscene.

SONY DSC

I packed up the kid

SONY DSC

and the just-finished quilt

SONY DSC

and headed to Endicott Park in Danvers for a real outside quilt-photo session.

SONY DSC

I made this quilt to be a wedding gift for either my cousin or my little sister’s childhood best friend, both of whom are getting married on June 29. I figure I’ll make two quilts and get my mom and sister to help me decide who gets what.

Even as I sewed down the binding last night, I had doubts: is this quilt too scrappy to gift? (How DO we feel about gifting scrap quilts? Do you gift scrap quilts, or do you only gift “special” quilts?) Is it a quilter’s quilt, in that only someone who’s looked a lot of quilts will appreciate its low-volume gorgeousness? Is it too modern?

SONY DSC

But these pictures of the quilt spread out on the green, dandelion-spotted grass did it for me. If I saw these pictures published by anyone on any blog or on Flickr, I’d covet this quilt. I’ll trust that one of the brides-to-be will, too!

Quilt stats:

Pattern: Cheryl Arkison’s Sunday Morning Quilt, published inΒ Sunday Morning Quilts (Nyberg & Arkison, 2012). Blocks constructed as written, but I did 6×7 blocks to make a throw size, ~60”x70”.

Fabrics:Β all kinds of low-volume scraps and stash from just about every place you can buy fabric. The big pieces on the back I scored from Pink Castle Fabric’s Sale section (swoon) and were like less than $5/yard. (Marked down to $5, and they were running one of their super-awesome 20% off any purchase promotions.) The binding was also from the PCF Sale section, though it was slightly more than $5/yard. It’s a print from Simpatico, I believe, and was a perfect frame for this quilt.

Quilting: is just more straight-line quilting, .75” apart. I actually used that weird measure bar thing this time. I’m not crazy about that little bar, but it allowed me to make my lines further apart. Quicker quilting, a softer, drapier quilt.

SONY DSC

Linking up to: Amanda Jean @ Crazy Mom Quilts Finish it Up Friday (hey, this quilt’s from her book!); Pink Castle Fabrics Blog

ETA: also linking up to Rachel’s Festival of Strings, as this was a string quilt I finished in 2013 (started after she announced the contest idea, so I feel definitely on the up-and-up)!

