Tags

, , ,

WIP Wednesday!

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Instead of cranking through my WIPs, how about a peek at what I’m doing with just one of them?

I mentioned on Monday that I was feeling a little sickish about improv piecing. I’m working on Lucy’s Lizzy House-Glam Garlands quilt, and I’ve decided to do the backing (almost) as Elizabeth Hartman has written it in the book (Modern Patchwork, in case you’re new here and you haven’t yet read my crazy raving about this book).Ā SONY DSC

See, I’m a measurer. A piecer. For the longest time, I did HSTs the hardcore dumb way: I actually sewed together two triangles of fabric. I may have even thought that paper piecing was cheating. And that improv piecing was lazy.

SONY DSC

Ahem.

It’s time to admit that sometimes I scoff at things because I either can’t do them or I’m nervous to try and fail. For two weeks I worried and fretted about these back blocks, trying to come up with a plan of attack. This morning I woke up, it wasn’t snowing anymore, and I remembered the whole “improv” part of improv piecing, which means you’re just supposed to do it.

SONY DSC

I still needed backup. I consulted Cheryl Arkison and Amanda Jean Nyberg’s fabulous scrap book,Ā Sunday Morning Quilts, and studied the “Sewing a Slab of Fabric” section.

90 happiness-and-Lizzy-House-filled minutes later, I had my blocks:

SONY DSC

It was SO FUN. I wish I’d had the guts to work with the whole Lizzy House bundle this way; I had this sense that this is really how the fabric is meant to be used. I’m a long, long way from the gorgeous improv piecing many of you do, and even further from the incredible Denyse-style piecing I wish I could learn, but hey, look:

SONY DSC

I am not going to argue with this orange-purple-yellow block. Not a bit.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I created some little snippets that need to be pieced into a fabric slab, like, now.

