Tags

, ,

It’s Christmas!

The season of…multiples.

SONY DSC

 

A quick post about these two quilted totes I whipped up using this tutorial by Plum and June for Sew Mama Sew. Okay, number one, they’re TO DIE and I want one for myself, badly. (Does anyone else suspect they’ll spend January frantically making up zippouchesmakeuprollstotebagsquiltstovatops JUST FOR THEMSELVES? Just me?) Number two, this is an excellent tutorial, so you should grab your string scrap bag and get on it, if you find yourself with three or so spare hours over the holiday week.

SONY DSC

 

Having never made a bag before my Stamped tote, I was a little spooked about the lining. Lined bags = easy peasy. I used two prints from The Simple Life by Tacha Noel for Riley Blake. I think they are quite appropriate for my grandmothers, both of whom love to sew. (One is a lifelong quilter, one is an experienced garment sewist who MADE MY WEDDING DRESS.)

SONY DSC

 

One note if you do grab your scrap bin and go for it: for the first tote bag, I used the suggested strap length of 36”. Maybe I’m short (I am a little) but I found those straps much too long for my comfort. I think for an 18” x 14” tote bag, I’m much happier with 27”-ish straps. I made the second one with 27” straps and it’s exactly perfect for my 5’4” frame. Otherwise! I think this tutorial is perfect, and it’s one I’ll revisit a bunch in the future.

And with that, we’re off to the South! It’ll be quiet here until after the new year, but I can’t wait to write about all the for-me things I’ll be making in January. Happy New Year’s, all!

