Tags

,

I’m writing this while the baby’s sleeping in and I’m enjoying some coffee-blogging-Honey Boo Boo time. (Sometimes you’re in charge, and sometimes you just put your feet up and watch Honey Boo Boo while eating things.)

I’ve pieced quite a bit of my Fire Drill quilt (destined to become my MIL’s Christmas gift) since Sunday, even though I’ve been pretty lazy and haven’t spent a lot of time at the sewing machine. I think this one grows quickly–my favorite kind of quilt pattern! Here’s what I’ve got so far:

I need to play with the layout a bit, and make a better effort at picture-making, but…really, you can’t argue with that, yeah? I think it’s bee-yutiful. And, once I was through cutting, it wasn’t all that hard to do! (Honestly, the hard part of this one was the cutting, by a long shot. It’s all the different-size strips you have to cut and count. BUT EH’s done all the real work for us, so let’s be grateful and rejoice.)

It’s not a sit-and-sew quilt, though. I joked to my husband that it was called Fire Drill because I’m up and down to the iron so often that it’s like doing a Fire Drill, over and over again. My ironing board is in the opposite end of my apartment from the sewing machine, though, so if you’re blessed with a better setup, you won’t feel like you’re all over the place.

Probably the up-and-down isn’t so bad. I’ll be glad to burn off some of these Honey Boo Boo calories.

Hoping to spend this Friday and some of this weekend making more blocks, and maybe I’ll start an apron or two. I’m setting a tentative end date for my Spinning Stars hand-quilting at…next Friday. I’d really like to have that one done so I can start using it! Hoping the fall weather brings you all lots of sewing time, and some lovely baked goods.

