Tags

, ,

Two posts in one day, what what what?

 

I am super-proud of how this little ol’ baby quilt turned out. Its baby was born this week–it’s a boy! And he has an awesomely classic name! And he’s gorgeous!–so I slapped on the binding, washed it in Charlie’s Soap (best stuff ever for washing baby textiles), and am going to mail it off this weekend.

 

 

 

I bound it in red, which was my “girl” plan, but I think red’s okay for a boy, too. And I think the top really needed that extra pop of red, plus a strong framing solid to lend it some structure. I used this design, the navys from my Pink Castle Fabric stash stack (OMG are you doing this yet?! Citron is October and I am almost PARALYZED by my excitement. I think you can still sign up, google Pink Castle Fabrics Stash Stack Club…), some Seaside by Riley Blake, some leftover Riley Blake Apple Dot, and one Amy Butler print. And Kona Bone, because I hope this gets barfed on, a lot, and Kona Bone will, I think, wear better than Kona Snow.

One last note on fabric choice: that backing is the yellow-red dot from Seaside. It’s astonishing as a big piece. It’s so fine and softly silky as the backing. It may just be my favorite thing about the quilt.

Speaking of barfed on, I like to include washing instructions whenever I gift a quilt, particularly a baby quilt. I want people to know that quilts are meant to be used and used and loved, and that yes, they are washable objects. (I remember being afraid to wash quilts, before I started making them.) The only real use for a baby quilt is tummy time, and during tummy time there’s always…regurgitation.

I hand-quilted this lovely with Gutermann hand-quilting thread in yellow. If you’re going to hand-quilt, using a specific hand-quilting thread really does make a difference.

 

And that’s it! I hope the little guy uses it and loves it, and that his momma washes and washes it until the binding starts to fray.

I’m posting twice in a day so that I can link up over at Crazy Mom Quilts’s Finish It Up Friday. I had a blast clicking through all the linky party links–head on over and take a look at the lovely stuff everyone is doing out in the quiltosphere!

