Tags

, ,

One of my favorite places to visit in the Boston area–really, in the whole WORLD–is Halibut Point State Park in Rockport, MA. A mere $2 will buy you a day parking pass; a short walk through the woods brings you out to an old quarry and a fantastic view of some very New England coastline. You can see our favorite beach from the scenic overlook, and you can even see Maine on a clear day! Nate and I bring all of our visitors here to show off.

We “discovered” this park back in 2009, before we left Boston. Even though Boston’s not a big city, it can get to you. The trains, the noise, the crowds, the smells. A body needs to get outside and see some green, hear the ocean, smell the salt. I always leave Halibut Point feeling well, like I’ve been fed, and I can go on tolerating the asphalt. It’s a great place to take pictures, too.

My sister Mary caught this picture of Lucy and me. It’s maybe my favorite picture of myself, ever. Love how the light makes Lucy look like an angel! She’s not. But…pretty close.

Halibut Point: take 128 North into Rockport, then take a left at that intersection in Rockport instead of taking a right to park down in the town. Drive about a mile, and there will be a sign for the entrance of Halibut Point on your right. Allow about 1.5-2 hours; the walk isn’t very long, maybe a mile TOTAL, but you’ll want plenty of time to gaze at the magnificent vistas.

