Tags

,

Oh, I am this quilt’s biggest fan.

I really hope my sister-in-law and her new husband enjoy it, too. I’ve had a bee in my bonnet about making a fan quilt since, oh, forever. When I ordered Nancy Mahoney’s Treasures from the 30’s about 14 months ago (ahem, for those of you who are paying attention, Lu is 14 months old) I knew this quilt had to happen, as soon as possible. Fast-forward a year to now, and it’s finally done.

Here’s the back, which is a Michael Miller Garden Pindot (awesome, awesome stuff for backing) in Peppermint. The top is Kona White and Violet Craft for Michael Miller’s Peacock Lane. The pink dots in the fan centers are Michael Miller Petit Point dot in Pink.

I love how the fan of the quilt pattern echoes the fan of the peacock’s tail that shows up throughout the prints. I’m also really pleased that I could use such a modern fabric collection to make a quilt that’s usually made with repro fabric or, at least made to have a vintage feel. The quilt finished at about 60” x 60”, a good throw size. Because it’s applique, it feels a little heavy, but not in an unpleasant way. I machine-pieced the fans, the broken dishes border, and all the blocks and borders, but I *did* hand-applique the fans to the blocks. Applique was a new skill for me, but after the first 5 blocks or so, it was easy-peasy.

I had real trouble getting a shot of the whole quilt that isn’t just awful. (Say hi, daily life detritus!) New skill to learn next: quilt photography!

